WhatsApp has announced an update that is supposed to bring numerous new privacy options. Specifically planned are longer deletion options for messages that have already been sent, a screenshot block for one-time content and an option to turn off the online display.
Messages longer deletable
Quite some time ago, WhatsApp created the possibility to recall sent messages. Apparently, this was in response to an urgent demand. Now it was communicated that the possibility to delete is extended: From now on, everyone who uses WhatsApp will have two and a half days to delete sent messages again. About a month ago, this option was already introduced in a beta version of the messenger. Previously, the deletion period was only 68 minutes and sixteen seconds – so this is a significant expansion that will be noticeable in everyday life.
Further innovations in WhatsApp
Other innovations concern, among other things, the online status. Until now, the online display can not be turned off completely; only the last online display can be hidden. From now on, it should be possible to regulate access to the information of being currently online in the same way. Thus, it will be possible to display this information only to certain contacts or to no one at all.
In addition, it will soon be possible to leave groups without other group members becoming aware of it. WABetaInfo has provided further information on this. From now on, only admins should be able to view a list that makes former members of the group visible. As an ordinary member there is no longer access to this information. Furthermore, it will be possible in the future to completely hide one’s own cell phone number in groups.
The fifth and last innovation concerns one-time content. For some time now, WhatsApp has allowed photos and videos to be sent in such a way that they can only be accessed once – an option that Snapchat has already offered for several years. Just as with Snapchat, WhatsApp is now to take further measures to protect this usually particularly sensitive content. A screenshot lock has been developed for this purpose. In concrete terms, this means that it is technically impossible to make a recording of the one-time content.
Login protection planned
In addition to the innovations that serve to protect privacy from other users, WhatsApp is also planning login protection. This aims to prevent the unwanted takeover of a WhatsApp account by strangers. As soon as a login to a WhatsApp account is to be made on a new device, a message will be sent to the previously used device in the future. The new device will only be able to connect to the account if the login is confirmed as legitimate there.