Instagram Stories are a useful and popular feature in the social media app. However, as we all know, Stories disappear after 24 hours – which is a shame if they contain something important that you would like to have permanently available. In this case, it’s a good idea to take a screenshot. But is the owner of the story notified when you take a screenshot? On Snapchat, this has been the case for a long time. We’ll tell you how Instagram handles it.
Do you see screenshots on Instagram?
Whether Stories, pictures or chat histories – there are many cases and ways to take screenshots in Instagram. For many, the question then arises whether the owner or chat partner is informed about it or not.
The clear answer here is: No. In general, you can take screenshots of anything imaginable in Instagram without letting anyone know. That goes for Stories, Reels, Posts, and Chats. But there are exceptions.
If someone sends you self-deleting pictures that can only be viewed once, then they can see when you take a screenshot of it. In this case, a small icon will appear next to the photo that resembles a sun. Of course, this also makes sense, because otherwise you could bypass the “view once” function at any time and without consequences by simply taking screenshots.
Whether Instagram will also “protect” regular pictures, Stories, Reels or chats from screenshots in the future remains to be seen. On Snapchat, this is common practice. Snapchat users can see who has taken screenshots via the three dots next to the published Story.