Since the beginning of 2014, Oculus, a company specializing in VR headsets, has been part of Facebook, which now has some limitations.
Without Facebook nothing works anymore
With the introduction of the Oculus Quest 2 there was a change in Oculus. If you want to use the headset, you must also have a Facebook account. The two accounts must then be paired. Now Facebook confirmed to the >a href=”https://uploadvr.com/delete-facebook-lose-oculus-purchases”> Magazine Upload VR that a separation is no longer possible. So if the user deletes his profile on Facebook, he has to live with the fact that he loses all contents of his linked Oculus account at the same time as the deletion. This means that all applications and purchased games are gone.
The headsets purchased before October 1, such as Oculus Rift S, the Oculus Rift, Oculus Quest and Oculus Go will probably continue to work until the end of December 2022 even without the link to the Facebook account. Users should therefore think twice before linking the two accounts. However, the new Oculus Quest 2 cannot be used without the Facebook account! For data protection reasons, the new headset is not available in Germany. If you still want the device, because of its good technical reputation, you have to use imported devices from neighboring countries. These should work without any problems so far.
Without “good reputation” no use
It is not only the losses caused by a deletion of a Facebook account that cause annoyed customers in connection with the Oculus Quest 2. Last week, according to a community manager, it became clear that Facebook accounts must have a “good reputation”. According to reports from some users, they were blocked by Facebook’s algorithms after they tried to reactivate their old accounts. According to the reports, the same thing happened when creating a new profile on Facebook. As a result of the lockout, the buyers of the new Oculus Quest 2 were then unable to use their headsets at all. Facebook simply sent an automated message to the users. With this, the users were informed that the suspensions were final and would not be lifted again. In the meantime, Facebook and Oculus have agreed to have the affected accounts checked again by their employees. So it remains exciting to see how things will continue with the headset’s close connection to Facebook.